Crested Butte's Ripping Female Freeride Blog

Flyin Ryan

It has been a week since the Kirkwood Competition where my friend Ryan Hawks passed away. I have been thinking about what to say for a while, but I have just decided to put something down in remembrance even if it is not perfect, which it never will be.  Here goes…

Ryan was quite possibly the nicest person I have ever met. Even if you only knew Ryan for a short while, he made you feel like you were good friends. He never uttered a mean word, and always had a shit eating grin on his face. He was a beautiful skier to watch, and was always humble about his ability.

I will always be thankful that I had the pleasure of knowing him, and I will strive to emulate his love of life, love of skiing, and his kindness towards others. My thoughts are with his family and the thousands of friends he had.

There has been a memorial fund set up in Ryan’s name and I encourage everyone to check it out at

http://ryanhawksmemorialfund.org/

Weeze

Leave a Reply

